Skip to main content

Legislation, Land Claims and Self-Government (Indigenous Peoples)

Yukon Land Claim Agreements

  • This page contains the extensive list of final agreements and self-government agreements made with the Indigenous groups living in the territory of Yukon, along with the Umbrella Final Agreement made between the Canadian government, the Council for Yukon Indians, and the Government of the Yukon.
  • The First Nations groups they have specific final and self-government agreements are the Carcross/Tagish First Nation, the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations, the Kluane

Nunavut Land Claim Agreements

  • This page contains all of the final agreements made between Indigenous communities with Nunavut (known as the Qikiqtaaluk Region) and the federal government with regards to land claims.
  • This begins in 1993 with Nunavut Land Claims Agreement and includes the annual reports following the agreements (from 2001–2011), the reviews of the implementation of the land claims agreement (2003–2013), and the archived reports on the implementation of the land claims agreement

Fiscal Relationship between Indigenous Communities & the Government of Canada

  • Since 2016, Canada and Indigenous groups have collaborated to renew their fiscal relationship.
  • This process occurs with the input of Indigenous Services Canada, the Assembly of First Nations, and other Indigenous organizations.
  • This page outlines the process for establishing a new fiscal relationship, the other processes available for self-governing Indigenous groups, and the r

British Columbia Land Claim Agreements

  • This page contains the several policies/agreements made between British Columbia Indigenous groups and the federal government over the years.
  • The First Nations groups involved in these agreements are the Maa-nulth, Nisga'a, Sechelt, Tla'amin, Tsawwassen, and Westbank and each have a different agreements/arrangements with the government.
  • The Maa-nulth, Nisga'a, Tsawwassen, and W

Addressing Misinformation about the Land Claim Process

  • This is a letter from the Grand Chief Serge Otsi Simon of the Mohawk Council of Kanesatake addressing misinformation regarding Indigenous land rights.
  • This letter expresses the discontentment with the Canadian government's ability to uphold the promises made in treaties like the treaty of Oswegatchie (1760) and the Royal proclamation (and others) in regards to their land rights and rights to self-determination.

Northwest Territories Final Land Claim Agreements

  • This page is dedicated to the agreements of the Canadian government and First Nations groups of the Northwest Territories, which include the Déline, Gwich'in, Inuvialuit, Sahtu Dene and Métis, and Tlicho.
  • The Gwich'in, Inuvialuit, Sahtu Dene and Métis, and Tlicho agreements all have annual reports reviewing the final agreements (some span over several years), while the Déline only have a record of their self-government agreement.

Canada's Self-Government Fiscal Policy

  • In order to support self-governing within Indigenous communities/governments, the federal government has co-developed a fiscal policy, which only applies to Indigenous groups that have self-governing arrangements and the policy takes over any previous federal policies that conflicts with this one.
  • The policy is the framework for fiscal arrangements, which outline the funding transfers between the Government of Canada and Indigenous governments and it is meant to s